I wish I could say that our adventures are our own ideas, but that wouldn’t be truthful.  Our inspiration comes from a lot of different places and a lot of different sources.  We live in the Hudson Valley, which is breathtaking in a different way with each passing season.  The mountains we view from right outside our window are stunning and when we take a walk down to the Hudson River we are reminded how lucky we are to live in such a beautiful area.  Whenever we have visitors and we show them around the area, we feel both proud and inspired!  Therefore, whenever we plan out an adventures, we seek natural beauty.

A friend of mine is trying to see as many of the places/things listed in the 1000 Places To See Before You Die book.  That’s a tall order!  I lived in England for a period of time right before Tom and I married.  Living in England was a great opportunity to see a great deal of Europe.  I only wish that I had seen more when I was there.  I always feel the pull to go overseas and see how life is lived elsewhere.   However, I also have been fascinated almost to the point of obsession with the good old fashioned American roadtrip.  To assist in planning such roadtrips or day trips, we have purchased the 1000 Places To See in the USA and Canada Before You Die.

Tom took up photography as a hobby in 2009.  We had purchased a digital camera a few years earlier and it sat in its box until we went up to my hometown in Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada for a visit.  All of a sudden, for reasons unbeknownst to either of us, Tom started taking pictures like it was going out of style!  And he hasn’t stopped since then.  I know that I am biased and all, but for an amateur photographer with a simple point and shoot camera, I would say that he is a fantastic photographer.  He has a very unique eye and observes what so many people miss.  I can hardly wait to share some of his wonderful photographs with you guys!  He is always seeking new places to photograph.

I hate the use the word “foodie,” but here I go using it, lol.  Tom and I are also both “foodies” and love to find unique, delicious and preferably cheap places to eat.  Tom is a very adventurous eater.  Me?  Not so much.  I am not narrow minded and I highly respect all individual cultures and the food that is prepared in each of these cultures, but do I like to eat unusual things?  Not always.  I’m inconsistent.  I was a vegetarian for a number of years, and while I am no longer one, I am funny about the meat that I do eat.  So you’ll notice in our future blog entries that Tom’s meals are much more interesting than mine!  🙂  Such is life!  One of my favourite websites is Road Food.  I salivate at the pictures that are on this site and get all excited to try as many of these places as possible.  So when planning an adventure, we also like to see if there is a Road Food inspired eatery to check out along the way!

http://www.roadfood.com/

We are also inspired by American kitsch that is sprinkled generously all across the country.  I fear that true kitschy roadside attractions are a dying art.  I hope that this isn’t true and would love to hear other people’s opinions on this, but I don’t see any new kitsch going up.  I hope that my adventures can prove me wrong.  I used to have this book called “Freewheelin’ USA” that laid out all sorts of hilarious/trashy/kitschy roadside attractions.  About ten years ago, my friend and I took a roadtrip to South Dakota with nothing more than a gas station map and Freewheelin’ USA and oh, the places we saw!  We went to a saloon that reenacted the shooting of Wild Bill Hickok!  We went to a palace made out of corn that hosted a polka festival!  We saw the world’s largest pheasant!  We went to a vinegar museum!  I’ve been to many places in the world, but this South Dakota trip counts as one of my favourites of all time.  Needless to say, when I discovered a website called Roadside America, I was beyond thrilled!  This site is like one huge online version of Freewheelin’ USA and I use it frequently when planning adventures!

http://www.roadsideamerica.com/

Tom and I are also highly inspired by our idyllic childhoods.  Tom took many day trips to places in the NYC area, I took a lot of lengthy road trips to Minnesota and Wisconsin.  I suppose we are both seeking that wonderful feeling you get when you go somewhere different, when you try different things.  I have several day trips/road trips planned for the near future and I can hardly wait to share them with you guys!  In the meantime, get inspired!  🙂

